DADS DAY

Originally I thought that there would be some sort of grilling action going on for Father’s Day, but ultimately I blame the weather….

Instead this is the menu that was served:

Herbed Baked Potatoes a la Ina Garten (modified of course)

Herbed Gruyere Scalloped Potatoes

Arugula, Feta, Watermelon Salad

Peach Almond Cobbler

So I used this version of Ina Garten’s recipe to make the herbed baked eggs – honestly though this was very much similar to the eggs I made on Mother’s Day, because I modified this recipe and mixed the eggs before pouring them into a baking dish – and mixed in the herb/cheese mixture.

For the Scalloped Potatoes I used this recipe but again modified – no bacon was used, and in the ‘spiced sauce’ I used 1 cup of heavy cream instead of 3 – I used milk instead – it still tasted great so next time I’m just going to use 100% milk.

For the Salad – this was the easiest salad to make ever, just layer a bed of arugula on a platter, drizzle with EVOO, salt and pepper, and mix in some feta, top off with some watermelon chunks – delicious and so simple.

For the Cobbler – I pitted and cut 4 peaches, and just cooked them with some brown butter for about 2-3 minutes, I put a little in each ramekin and topped it off with a sliced almond, butter, and brown sugar topping (Just buy the Trader Joe’s sliced almond package) . Bake for about 15-20 minutes and then serve with a little vanilla ice cream.

You’ll see in the photos another concoction – Thanks Pinterest. It was brie, strawberry, and waffle – topped with maple syrup. I do not recommend making this and don’t endorse it but they looked pretty.

If your dad likes champagne, make him mimosas. Someone is on a detox, so we made something else, orange juice, pineapple juice, club soda and some berries for decoration.

IMG_3286  IMG_3287

IMG_3288  IMG_3289

IMG_3290  IMG_3291

IMG_3294  IMG_3299

Leave a Reply

