Roma

Ok these were to be individual posts but who am I kidding – we’re going to just round them all up together. I started out in Rome, so here are some of the highlights

The First meal I had in Rome (apart from the banana and latte I ate in the morning) was PIZZA

Now, I was expecting this to be life-changing, mind-altering pizza – but we just stopped at a very touristy trappy restaurant because the guy offered us free prosecco. And even though we’re people that can afford our own prosecco, if we get one glass on the house, who are we to decline?

I went for a very basic item – margarita with rocketa, becaue without rocketa it just doesn’t do it.

It was delicious, don’t get me wrong, but it certainly didn’t end up being the BEST pizza I had in Italy.

IMG_4528 IMG_4532

***********************************************************************************************************

After visiting the pantheon we decided it would be a great idea to grab some coffee since none of us had a full nights rest, and what a good idea it was! La Casa Del Caffè Tazza D’oro is apparently known for their coffee – and hello, totally affordable too.

IMG_5028 IMG_5025

***********************************************************************************************************

Cacio e Pepe

This staple Italian dish is definitely one that I was more excited about. I mean what’s not to be excited about? Cheese + Pepper + Fresh Pasta.

Oh lord.

Even though this is a staple and probably going to be crazy amazing anywhere in Italy, of course I wanted to go to Roma Sparita because Anthony Bourdain said so. I don’t think I’d take all of his recommendations, like I’m really not into exotic crazy animal eating, but pasta recommendations from the guy I can do.

Roma Sparita was definitely not close to where we were location wise that day, and I’ve got to thank my travel companions because this is really only the beginning of the trip – there’s still so many places that I need to eat at that aren’t necessarily the most accessible based on our itinerary – so thanks guys!

Good news is, ohmygod this was totally worth it.

IMG_5153 IMG_5154

IMG_5156 IMG_5157

***********************************************************************************************************

GELATO. I was going to avoid this but then I was like ‘when in Rome’ right? So my first scoops were half stratiaccella which now, poor Hagaan Daaz, and pistachio. Stratiacella was ON POINT, it was my favorite gelato to have throughout the entire trip

IMG_5164

***********************************************************************************************************

Day 2 in Rome, and I had already had pizza and pasta, what was left? JK that’s stupid there’s so much that was left. Our lunch place was one we stumbled upon after visiting the Roman Forum and Colosseum. I ordered a salad with lettuce and mozzarella, and eggplant parmesan. Eggplant parmesan was ah-mazing. So so so delicious.

IMG_5279 IMG_5280

***********************************************************************************************************

Instead of coffee today we decided to do a Spritz – what a great idea, I actually really liked it, light and refreshing and delicious :))

IMG_5437

***********************************************************************************************************

Maccheroni came to us as a recommendation – actually three people recommended it – and those three people don’t know each other. So obviously this will be amazing right?

RIGHT?

They have a Truffled Fettucini on their menu. The funny thing is that as amazing as it sounds, I think I have a very American palette because when the black truffle arrived it was very…pungent. While the pasta itself was cooked very well I think at the end of the day I’m just a white cake and white truffle kinda gal…

IMG_5386

***********************************************************************************************************

So, I think that one of my main goals was to avoid all places that were touristy – but you can’t be a tourist and NOT go to some touristy things right? Pizzarium ended up being one of those places. I think every travel site recommended it, and honestly if you saw the photos (hungry or not hungry) you’d want to go.

Why they’re unique? They sell pizza by the pound.

Yah.

So just be careful. It’s very easy to assume 1lb of pizza is eatable for one person.

No.

But just save it and have it as a snack later.

IMG_5423 IMG_5424

***********************************************************************************************************

Our last dinner in Rome was a tourist trap one, which honestly it’s ok, it was worth it. I ordered another eggplant parmesan, it was amazing. I don’t remember the name of this restaurant though – however I can tell you that my view for dinner that night was the Pantheon. Bellisimo

IMG_5442

***********************************************************************************************************

I guess technically my last meal in Rome was the gelato I got from Giolotti – this was another one of those highly recommended places to go to, we had a little trouble finding it – but once we did it was totally worth it. I got my one scoop again but of stratiacella, and dark chocolate.

Both were incredible 🙂 YUM

On, to Montepulcianooo

IMG_5448 IMG_5449

Leave a Reply

